End of an era

Well. It’s over.

I find myself sitting in Gloria jeans in Cronulla having a cup of tea and wondering where the last 2 years have gone.

I remember getting my visa application and all those pesky supporting documents together like it was yesterday. Waiting (not so patiently) for my letter to arrive in the mail to find out whether or not I would be going to the UK, then jumping on a plane by myself having never even visited the town I was moving to.

I was determined to do something on my own, completely for myself and I did it. Yes I ran into some roadblocks along the way and met some not so nice people. But that doesn’t compare to how many wonderful people I did meet and the good times I had. By the end I thought I would be dying to go home – which to some extent I was.. But seeing my old friends and family meant leaving the new ones I had made which seemed to take away some of the excitement of going back home. What made it harder this time around was knowing I may never come back for anything more than a holiday.

All in all, it was worth it 100% and I would recommend to everyone that living abroad at some stage in their life is one of the most rewarding things you can do but also one of the hardest.

On that note, I leave you with a quote I read the other day that perfectly sums up how I feel.

“You will never be completely at home again, because part of your heart will always be elsewhere. That is the price you pay for the richness of knowing and loving people in more than one place “

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

