Easter long weekend

I’m a bit behind in my posts and easter has been and gone. But thought I’d post about my weekend anyway, I’ve been lazy over the last few months… that and I haven’t had much to post about!

In my endeavour to see as much of England as I can before I make my way home I thought I’d take a trip up to the North East, home of the Geordie Shore 😛 Maybe not as exciting as going overseas but much better than staying in Warrington for a long weekend!

We took the train on friday after Jack had finished work, we spent the night in Leeds and had dinner in a cool New York style burger bar where we tried to devour the biggest (and most delicious) burger I had ever seen in my life. Even sharing it between the 2 of us we still managed to get entirely defeated. We washed down our shame with a couple of awesome cocktails and had a walk around the town centre where we went to the oldest (still operating) pub in Leeds. We ordered some drinks and stood by the bar as sitting was not an option! Turned out it was quite a popular place! After a little while we took to the streets and had a look around town before retiring early because we were still too full on burger to walk around any longer.

The next day we checked out the markets and a few cathedrals and made our way to York! We had limited time in york so we hopped on the city explorer open top bus. I know, how much more touristy can you get?? But I gotta say it was a great way to experience the city and learn some history along the way. We checked out the Shambles, Clifford tower, York Minster, had ice cream in the Museum Gardens by St Mary’s Abbey, had a quick walk through the Yorvik Viking Museum, hiked the city walls AND fed a little lamb. All in all it was a great day.

That night we hopped a train and travelled onwards to Newcastle! Now this night we put the sight seeing aside and went out for a drink! Starting the night in Sinners (an appropriately named seedy nightclub) we took a couple of cheap triple shot drinks and the theme was set for the night. Messy. We snuck into Tiger Tiger, had a dance in Madamme Koos and a few other nightclubs I can’t remember. One having a really cool underground crypt feel to it and playing Mumford and Sons. I think this one was my fave!

The next day, I kid you not, I spent the first few hours sipping iced water and trying to sober up and work up the ability to eat something, and keep it down- totally worth it! It was a slow start to the day but we still got a lot done. Visited the castle, walk down the markets alongside Quayside, visited the St Nicholas Cathedral and took a trip out to the Long sands beach at Tynemouth.

Had a great weekend, and in all the excitement me and Jack completely forgot to eat some easter eggs! Shocking!

Samantha xx

yellow fields

Yellow fields on the train ride to Leeds

Cocktails

Jack’s cocktail is on fire!

ice creams

Easter ice creams in the Museum Gardens

St Mary's Abbey

St Mary’s Abbey

St Nicholas Cathedral

St Nicholas Cathedral

beach

Long Sands Beach – Tynemouth

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

